Tags

,

This was the time I thought about for a little while before I started planning.

Covid was creating waves in every part of the world. There were lockdowns, curfews, and capacity limits; every life was impacted.

I was sitting on the couch with my laptop. While browsing through some posts on the new Facebook, I meant LinkedIn – Let’s not go there; I will keep this topic for some other time.

I was reading how people were cribbing about their companies for not pitying their employees and all the dirty politics one had to deal with. It’s just a thought that came to my mind – It’s been 3 years since I last travelled somewhere.
I was dying to go somewhere, to live a mask free life. I was so tired, afraid, eager, desperate like everyone. I wanted to get somewhere other than sitting in my room all day. No physical activity, no lunch breaks. I had to book my calendar for taking time for lunch. I was always working, and it appeared I didn’t have a personal life. In a nutshell, I worked from 8 in the dawn to 7 at dusk.

Hope and magic are two words that always do wonders. Finally, I got my vaccination, people were getting vaccinated, and things started to get a little routine. Brain began to think about things outside of the work, although there was a little hesitancy. Still, every individual acted brave and believed in their respective governments, even when I started going to malls and eating out. However, I had to wear the mask, but the feeling of freedom was unexplainable in words.

Ultimately, I decided to travel and started planning for the adventure. 

Airline finalized, Tickets booked, I was making sure that there’s no halt and I travel direct.

But, just to be safer and to avoid sitting with a bunch in the tube, I spent a little extra for a signature class. That feeling is when you experience goosebumps that travel through your entire body and get excited and happy.

You tend to count days at work, and you tell everyone that you are taking time off and be back in a month or so; you behave in a cavort manner.

There were a few hiccups, such as getting the covid test done 72 hours before my departure and filling out some forms for the destination country.

It was not as bad but did lead to worries that if your result came positive, then the trip won’t happen. But luckily, all worked out.

I reached the airport 6 hours before my scheduled departure. I was extra cautious. I forgot that you get treated differently with more respect when you travel in signature class. Eventually, it’s the money that you pay for that treatment.

Separate queues for faster check-ins and security screening. You are through with all the requisites in a blink of an eye. Overall, it was a good experience at the airport. 

The flight was boarded an hour later than the scheduled time, which was expected, but it reached the arrival destination on time. This time it was India.

Landed beautifully, but the pain started as soon as we deboarded the plane. There were long queues for validating your documents with no physical distancing and no WIFI at the airport arrivals.

Then, I waited for my luggage. Even though my luggage had the priority tag, I had to wait for my luggage for 3 hours. People were fighting over trolleys. No mercy on elders. It was like a fish market. 
What a warm welcome!!

Smoky clouds and a different smell in the air were very discomforting. It makes your eyes watery. However, it started to get a little better once we were out of Delhi.

I fell sick in the first few days due to the non-resistance to food and water. After that, relying on probiotics for a few days got me better, but nervousness and hesitancy were always there. 

Eventually, I started going out and developed the guts to eat out. Still, in a matter of few days, the news about the omicron began circulating, and trauma started. I cared, was tantalized to go out, and wanted to meet people. Still, concerns over covid variant, potential lockdowns & curfews were traumatizing. Therefore, I preponed my return flights, and all the fun got over.

Words of wisdom: You matter, do it for yourself 🙂 🙂